AIP-320: The Sweep: For Accelerating Web3 Gaming Adoption

Proposal Name: The Sweep: For Accelerating Web3 Gaming Adoption

Proposal Category: Core: Ecosystem Fund Allocation

Abstract

It costs $9 million to sweep 100 Bored Apes and 200 Mutants. I propose we buy them, hold them in the treasury, and allow game companies to submit proposals requesting them in addition to or in lieu of Apecoin for game prizes and rewards.

Author Description

I’m an engineer by trade and I trade digital collectibles as a hobby. I’ve been a member of the Apecoin DAO since its inception and a member of the Bored Ape Yacht Club since May 2021. I’ve spent 6 years as a product design engineer and I hold 4 design patents.

Motivation

The intent is to ultimately increase the demand for Apecoin. People need incentives to buy Apecoin and participate in the ecosystem. My idea is to create an Apecoin DAO holding of Bored Ape NFTs. These NFTs can be requested through AIP proposals as an option for prizes in Apecoin games for example. They would have to be approved for grants in future AIP proposals as a community. This way, we are not limited to granting NFTs to existing games at the time of this AIP submission.

The Apecoin DAO also gains $9 million worth of assets that are not Apecoin. This means we would now have $9 million in assets to grant through AIPs that do not require the sale of Apecoin to execute. That is significant and helps to offset the effect of the initial swap to ETH for the NFT purchase over time.

Rationale

One of the biggest guiding principles of the APE community is to drive culture forward into the metaverse. Bored Apes have stood at the forefront of driving culture forward in Web3. I think a DAO holding of Bored Apes allows us to offer an asset, through grants, that will motivate participation in the Apecoin ecosystem. 300 Apes as prizes creates a significant incentive to purchase Apecoin and compete in Web3 games.

Benefit to ApeCoin Ecosystem