Quadratic voting system

PROPOSAL NAME:
Improving ApeCoin DAO’s Decision-Making Processes

PROPOSAL CATEGORY:
Process - For proposals aimed at changing the decision-making processes of the ApeCoin DAO.
TEAM DESCRIPTION:
I am an independent developer teaming up with a friend who has more extensive experience in the field, aiming to bring significant improvements to the ApeCoin DAO’s processes.

ABSTRACT:
This proposal aims to introduce a quadratic voting system within the ApeCoin DAO to make decisions more equitable and representative of the community.

BENEFIT TO APECOIN ECOSYSTEM:
Quadratic voting could potentially diminish the power of large token holders and give more weight to individual voices, thus strengthening democracy within the ecosystem.

KEY TERMS:
Quadratic Voting - A voting system where the cost of each additional vote increases exponentially.

PLATFORMS & TECHNOLOGIES:
We will use custom smart contracts on the Ethereum blockchain to implement the voting system.

STEPS TO IMPLEMENT & TIMELINE:
Implementation will require the creation and testing of smart contracts, community education on the new voting system, and integration with existing ApeCoin DAO platforms. We plan to start this project in Q3 2024 and span over 6 months.

OVERALL COST:
The estimated total budget for this initiative is approximately 50,000 APE.

Why use a custom smart contract when Snapshot already has Quadratic Voting as an option?

Is there something else this new custom smart contract will do outside of this function or is this the main feature?

Who is the friend you are partnering with?

What is your smart contract development experience? Do you have examples to showcase?

3 Likes

Could you explain better how this quadratic voting issue actually works?
How would you reduce the voting power of the largest token holders?
I like our current system, it works very well.

1 Like

Hi. Really great to read ideas on voting. :handshake::handshake: